Shanghai, China
Uyuni, Bolivia
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
  • Quick Links
  • Departments
  • Tamil

  • English

  • History

  • Indian Culture

  • Economics

  • Commerce

  • Mathematics

  • Physics

  • Chemistry

  • Zoology

  • Botany

  • Computer Science

  • Evening Courses



    The Department of Chemistry was established in the year 1963, just in the inception of the college. M.Sc. Chemistry was started in the year 1986. The department has well equipped separate laboratories for under graduate, post graduate and allied subjects. The Chemistry Post Graduate Department library has an excellent collection of books, journals and reference materials in addition to main library.

    Courses offered

    Courses Duration
    B.Sc Degree 3 Years
    M.Sc Degree 2 Years


    Name Designation

    Dr. P.Prabhakar,M.Sc.,M.Phil.,Ph.D.,

    Head, Associate Professor


    Associate Professor


    Associate Professor


    Assistant Professor


    Assistant Professor


    Assistant Professor

    Tmt. N.Vishnuthari,M.Sc.,M.Phil.,B.Ed.,

    Assistant Professor

    Dr.N.Kavitha, M.Sc.,M.Phil.,

    Assistant Professor


    Assistant Professor


    Assistant Professor

    Name Period
    Prof P.S. Chandrasekar 1965-1988
    Dr.S.P. Manickam 1988-1997
    Prof S.Palanichamy 1997-2000
    Prof V.K.Ravi 2000-2003
    Dr.N.Manisami 2003-2004
    Dr. P.Prabhakar 2004-2010
    Dr.V.Gopalakrishnan 2010-2014
    Dr. P.Prabhakar 2014-till date

    Faculty Achievements

    Progrmme Speaker Topics Date Sponsoring Agency
    State Level Workshop Dr. S. Murugan
    HOD of Chemistry
    ST Hindu College Nagarcoil
    Micro Scale Experiments 15-12-2011 Management
    National Level Seminar Dr. K. Mohanan
    Kerala University Trivandrum

    Dr. K. Dinakaran,MIT,
    Anna University,Chennai
    Educational and Employment Opportunities
    for Chemistry Graduates
    Special Workshop Dr. Krishnan Palanisamy
    Michigam University
    31-12-2011 UG and PG Associations
    Guidance and Counselling Dr. M. Umayavalli and
    Dr. A. Ashokkumar
    Guidance to score
    Maximum marks in +2 Chemistry
    25-01-2012 Department of Chemistry
    Special Lecture Series Dr. S. Abraham John
    Gandhigram University, Dindigul
    Nano Materials Department of Chemistry and
    Department of Physics
    National Science Day Exhibition Energy and Environmental Conservation 28-02-2012 Department of Chemistry

    Paper Publication /Research Project

    Faculty members are engaged in research work, seven research papers are published during the year 2011-12 in various national and international journals.

    The members of the staff have contributed fourteen publications in national / international seminars / conference / workshop conducted by other colleges / Universities.

    A Minor Research Project of Rs 1.80 Lakhs founded by UGC was also carried out from September 2010 to May 2012.

    Academic Excellence

    Dr S.P.Manickam, former head of the department has been awarded “Dr Radhakrishnan Best teacher award” for the year 1997 by the govt. of Tamilnadu.


    University Rank Holders
    Student Name Course Year Rank
    K.Kanagaraj M.Sc., 2008 III
    S.Vadivel B.Sc., 2009 III
    K.Priyadharshini. M.Sc., 2010 I
    S.Vadivel M.Sc., 2011 IV

  • Final year students of Final year B.Sc. Chemistry P.Muthu Kumar, .Rajendran,S.Muthurasan, R.Balamurugan and S.Navaneethapandian were won third place in Ad-Act event of Inter college meet organized by G VG College, Udumalpet on 13th August 2011.

  • Final year students of B.Sc., Chemistry P.Muthu Kumar and S.Navaneethapandian were won second Place in Power Word, S.Navaneethapandian won second place in Chem Quiz and third place in Chem Hunt, P.Muthu Kumar and S.Navaneethapandian were won III place in Rangoli of Inter college meet organized by Lady Lock College, Madurai on 31st January 2011.

  • Final year student of B.Sc. Chemistry Mr. S. Navaneethapandian was won first place State Level Seminar held in Devangar Arts College, Aruppukkottai on 25th February 2012.

  • Second Year B.Sc. Chemistry Student S. Rajapandi won third place in Working Model, S.Jayachandran presented a paper, T. Boominathan and P. Thirumoorthi were participated Quiz competition of Inter College Seminar organized by Jayaraj Annapackiam College, Periyakulam on 20th December 2012.

  • Final year student of M.Sc. Chemistry Silambu Selvi won Second place in Oratorical Competition held in MUTA, Madurai on 16th September 2012.

  • Prominent Alumi

    Name Course and
    Dr.P.Prabhakar B.Sc., 1983 HOD(i/c) Chemistry, Arulmigu Palaniandavar College of and Culture, Palani
    K.Palanichamy B.Sc., 1983 Headmaster, Govt.Hr. Sec. School, Palani.
    J.Mohamed Mustafa B.Sc., 1984 Chemist, Abudabi
    Krishna Moorthi B.Sc., 1984 Branch Manager, United India Insurance Co., Ltd, Oddanchatharam
    V.Gopala Krishnan B.Sc., 1984 HOD of Chemistry, APACAC, Palani.
    Kanagaraj B.Sc., 1988 Inspector, Ceuba Excise, Coimbatore.
    S.Ramesh M.Sc., 1988 Director, National Lab, USA.
    R.Kannan M.Sc., 1988 Chemist, Cochin
    S.Gnanaprakasham M.Sc., 1988 GM, Reliance, Madurai.
    V.Dharmar M.Sc., 1988 Sub-Inspector of Police, Madurai.
    Babu B.Sc., 1990 ACTO, Dindigul.
    K.Asokan M.Sc., 1990 Chemist, Indian Bureau of mines, Rajasthan.
    Dr Nagaraj M.Sc., 1990 Principal Scientist, CFJRI, Mysore.
    Natchimuthu M.Sc., 1990 Assistant Director, PWD, Pollachi.
    Govindaraj M.Sc., 1990 MD, Pharmaceuticals Ltd., Chennai.
    Dr R.Mahendran B.Sc., 1991 Assistant Professor, APACAC, Palani.
    K.Kathirava Perumal M.Sc., 1991 Sr. Manager, Breakes India Ltd.,
    Rajan B.Sc., 1992 Additional Supt.of Police,Karur.
    Dr A.Ashok kumar M.Sc., 1992 Assistant Professor, APACAC, Palani.
    C.Kumaresan B.Sc., 1994 Assistant Professor, APACAC, Palani.
    A. Bramanayagam B.Sc., 1994 ACTO, Udumalpet.
    Dr G.Sivakumar Ph.D., 1995 Geo-Chemist, PWD, Madurai.
    T.Kandaraja B.Sc., 1996 Deputy Registrar, Co-Operative Societies, Krishnagiri.
    N.Anandhi M.Sc., 1996 Chief Education Officer, Tirupur.
    A.Ramesh B.Sc., 1996 District Registrar, Thirunelveli.
    T.Murugesan M.Sc., 1997 Assistant Commissioner of Labour, Tirupur
    Dr M.Umayavalli Ph.D., 1999 Assistant Professor, APACAC, Palani.
    N.Vishnuthari M.Sc., 2001 Assistant Professor, APACAC, Palani.
    A.Kavitha M.Sc., 2002 Guest Lecturer, APACAC, Palani.
    A.Krishnamoorthy B.Sc., 2006 Ph.D., in UK.
    P.Selvakumar B.Sc., 2006 Ph.D., in Taiwan.
    M.Rajendran B.Sc., 2006 Ph.D., in Taiwan.
    P.Sathyadevi M.Sc., 2007 Post Doctorate Fellowship in Taiwan.
    K.Selvaprakash B.Sc., 2008 Ph.D., in Taiwan.
    K.Adaikalam B.Sc., 2008 Lecturer, Tamilnad Polytechnic, Madurai (SET  Passed in 2013)

    2018 © Arulmigu Palaniandavar College of Arts and Culture Best View in 1366 x 768 Resolution   Developed by Web Development Team